I Tasted A Lot Of Madison

Yesterday after my Speedy 5 Mile Run, I went to the Taste of Madison on the Capital Square with my parents.  We also met up with some of their friends so there was a pretty big group of us.  That was fine with me since I’d never gone before and I appreciated the guidance.   

Taste of Madison_1

The Taste of Madison features all sorts of local restaurants with food items priced at around $4 per plate.  All the booths are located around the Capital similar to the Farmer’s Market.  There was so much food, it was hard to choose what to eat and what to pass on!  I tried to stick to different foods that I’ve never tried.  Luckily, I was able to split things with my parents so I could sample more foods without getting full too fast.

Here is a recap of what I ate:

Taste of Madison_2

Taste of Madison_3

My first ever oyster!  It was surprisingly delicious and something I would try again.  Maybe not raw though…

Taste of Madison_4

I was pretty excited when I saw the Beignets and just had to have them.  They weren’t quite like the Beignets at Café Du Monde, but it did make me want to go back to New Orleans.

Taste of Madison_5

This was no ordinary mini burger; it was lamb.  Sorry, but it was tasty.

Taste of Madison_6

I had to fight my mom over it!

Taste of Madison_10

Another first for me was calamari.  It had a different texture, but it was deep-fried so it was amazing.

Taste of Madison_11

I tried a lot of different foods but had to go back to a classic for dessert – Cherry Cheesecake.  So good.  

Taste of Madison_8

All in all I had a really great time at the Taste of Madison and would definitely go again.  I’d also recommend it to anyone who loves trying new foods.  Just remember to come with a group of people so you can try more things!

Leave a Reply

