Biker Chicks

If the weather forecast holds true, it looks like this weekend will be warm and sunny with temperatures pushing 70 degrees.  This is nothing short of a miracle because it snowed earlier on in the week. 

With the nice weather I’m hoping to get in a long run and at least one bike ride with my mom.  Last summer my mom and I went on lots of bike rides together and had a lot of fun exploring new areas.  We usually try to bike in areas we know will have great opportunities for lunch and shopping.

P1030047-2

These pictures are from when my mom and I biked to Olbrich Gardens last summer. 

P1030048

I plan on biking more this year as a way to cross train for my marathon training.  I’ve been using my dad’s bike since he usually only uses it once a year and my personal bike is a mountain bike that I got when I was 12.  It is very bulky and heavy so it’s not good for long distance riding. 

I’d like to buy a new bike but experienced major sticker shock when my mom and I went to Machinery Row in Madison.  I want a nice and light bike, but I don’t want to spend $5000.  Maybe I will just have to convince my mom to buy a new bike so that I can have her old one! 

Leave a Reply

