Twitter Questionnaire!

This post started out just as my experience with joining Twitter, but then I felt it would be better as a Questionnaire so you can share your experiences too!

Here Are The Questions!
  • Q1: When did you join Twitter?
  • Q2: What did you know about Twitter before joining?
  • Q3: How did you decide to finally join Twitter?
  • Q4: What was your first Tweet?
  • Q5: What have you gained from joining Twitter?
  • Q6: Have you ever participated in a live chat on Twitter and what did you learn?
Here Are My Answers!

Q1:  When did you join Twitter?

I joined Twitter on March 24, 2013.

twitterbird

Q2:  What did you know about Twitter before joining?

I will admit I had very limited knowledge of what Twitter was, or how to use it, or what advantages tweeting would offer.

Basically all I knew about Twitter was:

  1. The act of using Twitter is called a Tweet.
  2. Tweets are limited to 140 characters.
  3. Your user name is referred to as your handle.
  4. #peopleusehashtagesaftereverythingtheypost
  5. Certain celebrities are often tweeting things and then having to apologize for it in another tweet.

Q3:  How did you decide to finally join Twitter?

I decided to join Twitter as a way to get my blog “out there” to reach more people.  I felt Twitter was the best way of reaching people with the same interests.

Q4:  What was your first Tweet?

Ah my first Tweet was simple, honest and to the point.

firsttweet

Q5:  What have you gained from joining Twitter?

I feel I’ve gained a real sense of community.  I’ve learned so much about blogging and fitness from people across the world.  Being part of a network of runners and bloggers has really kept me motivated to push myself to keep with it and not give up. 

Q6:  Have you ever participated in a live chat on Twitter and what did you learn?

The first day I joined Twitter I found myself participating in a Q&A hosted by #RunChat.  They do Q&A’s about running on the second and fourth Sunday of every month.  I found it was hard to keep up with but full of great tips. 

Earlier this week I participated in the first ever #BlogSmarter chat that was hosted by Lindsay, Jes, Cori and Elizabeth.  This time I was prepared and signed-up for TweetChat which made it a lot easier to follow along. 

What I learned from this chat:

  1. Be true to yourself.
  2. Don’t blog just to blog.
  3. Use lots of (good) pictures.
  4. Engage with your readers.
  5. Don’t be afraid to ask if you want to work with a brand.
  6. Use good grammar and spell check.
  7. Prioritize and be organized.

I look forward to more #BlogSmarter chats from these girls in the future!

Take the Twitter Questionnaire for yourself!

Answer as many as you like or all of them and share!

2 responses to “Twitter Questionnaire!

  1. Great post – so simple, yet sensible. I avoided Twitter until about 18 months ago, realising that I could do subject specific searches and start to curate content and follow people of interest. All the best with your own Twitter journeys!

Leave a Reply

