First Run Of The Season

Since I’m a big wimp when it comes to being cold, I haven’t been out seriously running outside since November.  Running outside while there is snow on the ground does not appeal to me.

Fortunately, the weather was actually cooperating today and we reached 50 degrees and sunny by the afternoon.  I usually get my runs in after work and can lose ambition quickly if I don’t go out IMMEDIATELY after I get home. 

In anticipation of my epic run, I strapped on my Garmin Forerunner 10 in the morning so I would continue to think about running throughout the day.  Also, I find I make better food choices when I’m wearing my Garmin, probably because it reminds me how much work it takes to burn off a couple Oreos. 

When I got home I took off my Garmin and let it sit outside to get satellite signal while I went inside to change and put on my running shoes.   Normally I wouldn’t do this but leaving the Garmin outside gave me more motivation to run. 

So how did my run go?

I’d say not bad for my first run of the season.  Originally I had thought about only doing 2 miles, but decided to push myself to get to 3 miles.  I really didn’t focus on pace; I just wanted to run comfortably.

040813_3MileCountry

Overall, I am very pleased with my first run and look forward to plenty more runs to come in the near future!

2 responses to “First Run Of The Season

Leave a Reply

