The Domes: Part 3

The last dome Joe and I saw was the Show Dome.  This dome is more seasonal so there were lots of spring flowers.  The Show Dome is also used for weddings and other events. 

032912Domes-180

The temperature was mild in the Show Dome but I’m sure it gets pretty hot in the summer time.  I would think it would be like a sauna in the summer months with all the glass.

032912Domes-181

In the middle of the dome there was a pond and a gazebo where I’m sure most of the weddings take place. 

032912Domes-184

Joe was quick to point out the Spanish Moss.  When I visited Joe in December we went to a park that had a ton of Spanish Moss.  I think it is really eerie looking and the thought of walking in this park at night would really freak me out.

032912Domes-187

The Easter Lilies were in full bloom!

032912Domes-194

Joe and I didn’t really pay attention to the names of the plants.  I just took pictures of the ones that really caught my eye.

032912Domes-200

They seemed to have a Louisiana/Mardi Gras theme going on in the dome because there were alligators, masks and statues of famous jazz players mixed in with the flowers.

032912Domes-202

I may need to invest in a macro lens since I really enjoy taking close up pictures. 

032912Domes-203

I wasn’t a big fan of the blue colored water.  I prefer a more natural look.  The water looked like it was saturated with Miracle Grow.  Who knows, maybe it was!

032912Domes-214 

Joe does a great job posing for the camera.  Such a natural!

All in all, we had a great time at The Domes and we enjoyed spending the day together.  Being able to share new experiences with each other felt amazing after being apart.  We’re already counting down the days till Joe’s next visit in May.  Hopefully the days will go by fast because I already miss him like crazy!

Don’t forget to check out Part 1 and Part 2!

Leave a Reply

