The Domes: Part 2

After experiencing the Tropical Dome, Joe and I headed to the Desert Dome. 

032912Domes-132

The temperature in the Desert Dome was cooler and of course the air was dry unlike the hot and humid climate in the Tropical Dome. 

032912Domes-141

Joe and I got engaged in Sedona, Arizona so being in the Desert Dome made us remember the excitement of the proposal.   I still don’t know how I didn’t see it coming! 

032912Domes-151

This seemed a little cliché and totally staged, but I couldn’t resist taking a picture!  They also had a rubber rattle snake perched on a rock looking like it was ready to strike.

032912Domes-153

Joe and I also learned how to make Tequila so it was an educational trip.

032912Domes-154

I wouldn’t be able to tell the difference between this plant and the Aloe Vera plant.  They look pretty similar.

032912Domes-159

Sometimes I am really amazed at the vivid colors that can be found in nature. 

032912Domes-169

Even though I usually think of sand and dead things when I picture the desert, I know it can actually be quite green and full of life.  There were bright green plants in the Desert Dome and lots and lots of texture.

032912Domes-179

The natural way this plant was fanned out looked like an explosion!

032912Domes-170

There was a cute little “adobe” hut with benches that Joe and I sat on to observe the dome and people watch.  Sitting down was a nice way to slow down and really experience the dome, especially since it can be sensory overload at times. 

I never waste an opportunity to get a quick couple shot either.  My Nikon is pretty big so these self shots are harder to master with one hand.  I’m terrified of dropping my camera so I made sure to wrap the strap around my arm no less than five times.  I make it look so effortless.

Next up will be Part 3 about the Show Dome!

Leave a Reply

