Trader Joe’s

This weekend while I was out and about with my mom we stopped at Trader Joe’s.  We picked up things to make our own pizza and I found a few other things to try.  Finding new things is not hard at Trader Joe’s as they are always bringing in new products.  They also have a lot of unique items that you can’t find at a regular grocery store.  Some might be intimidated by this or think a store like Trader Joe’s must be expensive.  This is not the case; I find the prices to be quite reasonable.  Trader Joe’s has a great selection of products and usually offer a regular and Organic option. 

So what did I get?

  • Chia Seeds
  • Almond Butter
  • Orangina

20130324_104152

I’ve been dying to try Julie’s (PBFingers) recipe for overnight oats ever since she posted the recipe for Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookie Dough Overnight Oats.  However, she clearly states that the chia seeds cannot be omitted or the oats won’t thicken.  I couldn’t find chia seeds at my local grocery store but figured Trader Joe’s would have them.  Once I found them I was super excited!  I haven’t tried the recipe yet, but when I do I will be sure to post my thoughts. 

I also picked up Almond Butter in the Creamy With Sea Salt variety.  I basically eat peanut butter every day so trying almond butter seemed like a no brainer.  I was a little confused when making my selection as there are a few different varieties of almond butter.  There is raw, creamy, chunky, with salt and without salt.  Since this was going to be my first time I decided to choose creamy with sea salt.  I tried it immediately when I got home by eating a spoonful to get the true taste.  I really enjoy the almond butter and feel it gives me a nice break from peanut butter. 

I was about to check out when I spotted the iconic Orangina bottles.  The zesty orange flavor is refreshing without being too sweet and there is a little bit of pulp, but it’s not overwhelming. Their website has lots of fun cocktails that will be perfect for summer. 

I haven’t had Orangina since French class so the thought of it brought back lots of fun memories.  Inside joke:  gilet de sauvetaaaaaage!  FYI – thick Wisconsin accents do not translate well into French.

Leave a Reply

