Cream Cheese Monkey Bread

This weekend I decided to try a new recipe that I found on Pinterest.  I have seen lots of recipes for various types of Monkey Bread on Pinterest but none really excited me until I saw this recipe which called for cream cheese.

The recipe seemed simple enough, using tubes of refrigerated biscuits, sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, butter and cream cheese.  I appreciate a recipe with around 5 ingredients that I am able to pronounce and locate easily in the grocery store.  There is also a better chance I will actually make a recipe if it has about 5 ingredients.

Since my mom planned a fun filled day for Saturday, I decided to prepare the Monkey Bread Friday afternoon to save time in the morning.  The recipe was easy to follow and had lots of pictures illustrating each step.  I will not make a recipe if there is not at least one picture.

The only part I got hung up on was the biscuits.  The recipe says to cut the discs of dough in half.  This was a joke.  Instead of possibly losing a finger, I opted to tear the biscuits in half and reshape as needed.

20130322_161236-2

After covering the dough with the sugar mixture I felt like I must’ve misread the recipe.  It seemed like way too much sugar and I even didn’t use all of the mixture.  I was a little worried about how it would turn out, especially since I was letting it sit overnight in the refrigerator.

20130323_100006-2

After I took it out of the oven I could see the sugar had caramelized nicely.

20130323_100912-2

Of course the recipe makes it seem so simple; just invert on to a serving platter.  Fail.  The top layer fell out and I ended up scraping out the bottom half from the pan.

20130323_101032-2

Oh well, presentation isn’t everything.  I just grabbed a couple while they were warm and they were quite delicious.  Even though the recipe is classified as breakfast, with all the sugar and cream cheese it is more like a dessert.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

