My First Time At Ulta And Orchid Blossoms

My friend’s baby shower is on Sunday so after work on Friday I did some shopping so I could pick up her gift.  A brand new Ulta just opened up next to the Babies R Us and since I’ve never been in one of their stores before I decided to check it out.  I’ve heard a lot of great things about Ulta and the products they sell.  It was a little intimidating walking in and being surrounded by people who are clearly makeup junkies.  I felt out of place to say the least.  Even the greeter said she could tell I’ve never been to an Ulta before.  Guess my 10 minute makeup routine and slept on side braid gave me away. 

The store is set up in three parts.  One side for “high end” products like Urban Decay, Benefit and Smashbox.  The other side is more drug store products like Revlon, Maybelline and Cover Girl.  The back is essentially made up of various hair products.  They also have an area where they will do your makeup and give tutorials. 

I ended up not buying anything since I don’t usually wear a lot of makeup and didn’t feel there was something I just had to have.  I also had a hard time finding the prices of things.  Maybe I wasn’t looking very close but I don’t like to “hunt” for prices or have to ask.  I’m used to seeing a product and the price being listed right below it.  I feel that is important especially when getting in to the high end products where you can easily spend $30.00 on a lip gloss. 

I will go back on another occasion when they finish getting everything in the store, there were still shelves that said, “products coming soon.”  Maybe I can pick up a few things and get some help since I plan on doing my own makeup for the wedding.

On a separate note, my orchid has blossomed!  My orchid is a white phalaenopsis.  My mom’s orchids are also phalaenopsis orchids but they are just a different color. 

030913Random-7

I took a few pictures straight on and then this one with the natural light from the window behind the blossoms.  I think it gave it a unique look.  Of course I spiffed them up a bit in Lightroom to bring out the vibrant colors.

030913Random-5

I can’t wait for the rest of the buds to open up!

Leave a Reply

