New Hobby – Photography

Since I want to keep my wedding small and intimate, I decided not to have a photographer.  My Mom and I will take the pictures.  Besides not wanting a photographer that I don’t know hovering around, I didn’t really want to shell out that kind of money for such an intimate event.  I’d rather invest in a nicer camera and editing software that I will be able to use for years to come.

I do enjoy taking pictures, especially when I go somewhere new.  If I’m gone a week, expect at least 500 pictures.  I also enjoy everyday photography, like taking pictures of everything I eat.

Transitioning from my point-and-shoot to a Digital SLR seemed intimidating at first.  I’d gotten used to taking pictures with my phone and wouldn’t even use my point-and-shoot unless I was traveling.  Being able to quick snap a picture on my phone and send it in a message or upload it to Facebook is just so convenient in our fast paced, instant gratification world.  I can even send photos to get developed at Walgreens through their app and pick them up in about an hour.  Crazy!

Nikon D3200

After reading some reviews online and watching countless YouTube videos I decided on the Nikon D3200.  I felt it was a good starter DSLR that wouldn’t be overly complicated or heavy.  The camera even has a built in guide mode that walks you through the adjustments in Manual or Auto mode to capture the shot you want.

Nikon Gear

I also bought a few other things to start my photography collection.  Of course I needed a memory card and I purchased some filters to protect my lenses from dust and scratches.  Since I will be getting married in Hawaii where there are beautiful landscapes I decided to pick up the Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G IF-ED lens.  It was also on rebate so I saved $100 which is a major win!  Having the additional zoom lens will be perfect for capturing shots of the coastline and inaccessible waterfalls.

20130221_185215

To enhance all my pictures I also purchased Adobe Lightroom 4.  The camera can only do so much; the rest comes from editing.

Leave a Reply

