My Running Inspiration

I am sure most people would assume that someone with a blog titled My Life Running would LOVE running and would have started running at a young age.  In fact, that is far from the truth.  I grew up playing soccer and hated running drills in practice so much I would find every excuse possible to get out of running.  From bad ankles to hiding in the woods on trail runs, I avoided long distance running like the plague.

I stopped playing soccer after my freshman year of college but still wanted to maintain an active healthy lifestyle so I began working out at school.  Of course this was the start to my on again off again relationship with the gym.  I loved being a gym member and having access to all the cardio machines and weights but found making time for workouts difficult due to my hectic schedule and academic demands.

During my cardio workouts I varied between the bicycle, elliptical, and the treadmill.  The treadmill was my nemesis, but I always felt I got the most out of my workout after 30 minutes on the treadmill compared to 30 minutes of any other workout.  Soon, the treadmill became my cardio machine of choice especially when I was on a time crunch between classes.  Trying to cram in a strength training circuit is never a good idea because rushing through the exercises increases your risk of injury and is less effective if you’re doing the movements incorrectly.

Eventually I increased my speed and my distance while reducing my time to where I was comfortable running 3 miles in just under 30 minutes.  This was the farthest I’d ever run and was comfortable staying at this distance.

Flash forward to summer 2012, specifically the Summer Olympics in London.  After watching these amazing athletes I felt inspired to become an athlete myself by completing a half marathon.  I loved the color of the shoes the track runners were wearing and felt it would be a constant reminder of why I started to run so I bought my first pair of running shoes and signed up for the Haunted Hustle Half Marathon.

shoes

 

Leave a Reply

